The Theme From My Three Sons; By Frank De Vol; A Living, Breathing TV Theme

Frank De Vol

Frank De Vol

Frank De Vol‘s Theme From My Three Sons  (VERY SPECIAL TO ME AS I HAVE THREE SONS) is catchy, clever AND extremely memorable! His quirky scoring along with the way he impliments “Chop Sticks” is sheer genius. The match of this theme/show for the times, genre and audience is impeccable.

As a side note, besides being an admirer of his work across the board, I loved him as bandleader “Happy Kyne” in Fernwood Tonight.

Come back with me now to 1960, a time when you gave Christmas presents to the milkman and postman…

*The TV themes that stay with me reflect every character, every episode, the times the series took place in AND the genre of theatre applicable; fresh forever in my music mind.

3 thoughts on “The Theme From My Three Sons; By Frank De Vol; A Living, Breathing TV Theme

  1. This tune is probably one of my favorites also. I often wondered if the characters in the series were created to fit the music?
    With the death of Don Grady last year it is particularly poignant.

    • I didn’t know about Don Grady’s death. I remember I had a hard time with the transition of William Frawley “Bub” to
      William Demarest “Uncle Charlie”. My grandmother thought I looked like Ernie…

Leave a Reply

