Ray & I Go Way Back Or GET Me Started On Ray Davies…

imgres-1

I was 12 years old when You Really Got Me hit; HIT hard it did! I was in a fever over the Kinks. In fact, whenever I got a cold, I used to go around singing Kinks‘ songs because I felt I sounded like Ray Davies!

I loved the feel, the raw yet polished production and I loved the musicians’ interaction; imperfections that actually enhanced the result! This was a lesson that proved very valuable to me in my own productions to come.

This is when I started to notice production qualities. More precisely Shel Talmy, not to mention his very hip piano threads weaving in and out.

Shel Talmy

Shel Talmy

So there was that raw gutsy period, You Really Got Me, All Day And All Of The Night, etc.. The first real change for me was their album, The Kink Kontroversy; my pick: I’m On An Island (Ray Davies). I love his psuedo reggae, Jamaican type flavour- it just really works for me.

I have only recently discovered from a British friend that North America was only privy to a portion of Ray‘s work or at least it seems to have been marketed that way. From this point on, I was pretty well enamoured by “singles” only.

Well Respected Man, Dedicated Follower Of Fashion, which I enjoyed but really got into Sunny Afternoon (Ray Davies). Listen to Nicky Hopkins‘ great piano work on the session.

Then… Lola (Ray Davies)! In the documentary the Ray DaviesImaginary Man, he was asked why the lyric “the champagne tastes like cherry cola”, he replied because it rhymes…

imgres-2

Ray Davies

Although Ray Davies has and always will be with me, my interest has been rekindled ten fold ever since the London Olympic ceremonies. It had been so long since I was emotional about him that I didn’t actually recognize him immediately; that is to say I was shocked at his appearance initially. This version of Waterloo Sunset (Ray Davies) really does it for me…

I don’t know if I could get along with Ray Davies on a personal level; he has been through so much that I could not possibly relate to; he has reinvented himself to survive many times. I can tell you this, I would love to interact musically with him and I am planning my own treatment of some of his music in a future collection which I will release…

My emotional essay on Ray…

6 thoughts on “Ray & I Go Way Back Or GET Me Started On Ray Davies…

  1. Thanks for connecting; that original comment was on a picture I had mistakenly identified as Shel Talmy and had indeed been mistaken. It was Phil Spector.

Leave a Reply

