JACK Of All Time Signatures, MASTER Of Music; Dave Brubeck

imgres

There’s a way of playing safe, there’s a way of using tricks and there’s the way I like to play which is dangerously where you’re going to take a chance on making mistakes in order to create something you haven’t created before.”
Dave Brubeck

When I was 16 years old, my band director took our band class to Massey Hall to see The Dave Brubeck Quartet. What I observed on that day, is with me to this day.

His attitude, the band’s musicianship AND rhythm section interaction became and, still is, ingrained in my musical psyche. We have never met but, he was, unbeknownst to him, my main musical mentor.

Through the years I have been delighted and inspired by his many collaborations and experiments. His humility, nonpartisan views and sincerity will be treasured forever in my philosophical, social and musical meanderings.

All the above seemed to spread and influence any “at the moment” musicians assembled and certainly the famous quartet; the audience of course getting the full benefit.

Through the years I have arranged, played and absorbed so much of his music that I feel like an old friend. To name a favourite would be impossible; so I will post what my emotions dictate at the time of this writing.

Rest well Mr. Brubeck; you will certainly be missed. You will always remain in my thoughts, hopes and emotions.

This makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up!

Dave Brubeck – piano ; Paul Desmond – alto saxophone; Norman Bates – bass
Joe Dodge – drums

3 thoughts on “JACK Of All Time Signatures, MASTER Of Music; Dave Brubeck

  1. One of my all time favorites. I love pretty much everything that the Quartet put out. Musical exploration at it’s best, and really beautiful music also. Joe Morello is one of my fav drummers too

Leave a Reply

