Rhinoceros’ Apricot Brandy: 1960s-70s Musical Canadiana; Hear Where I’m Coming From?

When you hear that “Tele“(Fender Telecaster) digging in on that intro, you know that you are in for a very hip ride. After all these years, I never get sick of RhinocerosApricot Brandy (composers: Weis/Fonfara). It grooves, bites and stings sooo good.

Rhinoceros: That Famous Cover

Talk about sum of all the parts, this baby fits together like a 3 dimensional jigsaw puzzle. Although it’s all about the guitars, the Hammond B3 floating over the drummer’s quarter note punch, for me, really pulls it all into focus. You definitely do not have to blow the dust off this one!

Let’s groove, go back to 1968 and dig in to RhinocerosApricot Brandy.

Personnel as determined: Danny Weis Guitar; Doug Hastings guitar; Michael Fonfara organ; Jerry Penrod bass; Billy Mundi drums.

*I have absorbed, inhaled and envisioned every note of this music; this music which has allowed my musical candle to burn incessantly for decades; a musical candle causing a burn that feels so GOOD; a hurt allowing me to create until I can’t. I gratefully acknowledge my Canadiana musical roots with this blog.

Leave a Reply

