Floyd Cramer’s Last Date; When Instrumentals Were Fun!

Floyd Cramer‘s Last Date tugs at my heart on so many levels. Memories of a country era long since passed; a radio era long since passed; family that has passed on… I never get sick of listening to it and I welcome it back to my ears like an old friend each time I stumble upon it.

Those famous slurred licks in the higher octaves for me, define a very hip country era. I think of his work with Patsy Cline, Jim Reeves, Eddie Arnold to name a few; unmistakable licks. Listen to the colour palette on this; vibraphone on strong beats; very functional string arrangement. I love the vocal background, just enough to bring out the sentiment!

Come back to 1960 and melt into Floyd Cramer‘s Last Date

Personnel as determined: Floyd Cramer piano.

We were, of course, THE garageband generation.* We started the whole three chord, bass guitar, rhythm guitar, lead guitar and drum thing. Looking back to the music of those times, things seemed to be less complicated but, our desire to get proficient was insatiable. Those of us who couldn’t keep up with the skill needed for the evolving music, simply dropped off the radar. Me? Well, I just couldn’t get enough! Things haven’t changed!

*When a doctor checks out my ears with his scope, this is a HUGE part of what he sees.

Leave a Reply

