Flying; A Beatles’ One-Off

The Beatles: Way, Way Back In The Days When Everything Was Fun.

Flying (composers: Lennon/McCartney/Harrison/Starkey) is one of those tunes that I really don’t know what to do with. I have always enjoyed it when I did listen but, I never really craved it; I never really had to listen to it.

Originally titled Aerial Tour Instrumental, the tune kind of meanders through a 12 bar form without much tension which, for me, is really the charm. I feel that Flying probably sums up the mood they were in at the exact moment they laid it down; then, they probably got silly, because they could! Time, money etc. was simply not an issue so what the hay!

Let’s go back to 1967. If The Beatles’ Flying turns you on, by all means, take it home…

 

Personnel As Determined: John Lennon mellotron, organ, sound effects, vocals; Paul McCartney bass, guitar vocals; George Harrison guitar, vocals; Ringo Starr drums, maracas, sound effects, vocals.


As far as the creative side of my musical persona is concerned, I am the sum total of what I have experienced musically. The emotion, the energy and the memories of music collected in my ear have shaped who I am as a composer, player and dreamer.

Leave a Reply

