David Clayton Thomas & The Shays’ Take Me Back: 1960s-70s Musical Canadiana; Hear Where I’m Coming From?

Take Me Back (composed by: G. Fleming), is one of the most near and dear to my heart tunes of my youth. I played it in a group more times than I can remember and I am very sure I wore out a few singles of it.

Roman Records: Duff (aka The Duffer) Roman Owned The Label & Managed The Band. He Was Also A Very Popular DJ At CHUM AM In Toronto.

I am a HUGE fan of David Clayton Thomas from the beginning of his career on; next to his voice, I really loved Fred Keeler‘s great guitar sound.

Let’s set the wayback for 1965; Yonge St. is alive once again with the great Toronto Sound. Get into David Clayton Thomasintense, controlled growl backed by that driving force of the Shays…

Personnel as determined: David Clayton Thomas vocal; Fred Keeler guitar; Gord Fleming organ; Scott Richards bass; John Wetherell drums.

*I have absorbed, inhaled and envisioned every note of this music; this music which has allowed my musical candle to burn incessantly for decades; a musical candle causing a burn that feels so GOOD; a hurt allowing me to create until I can’t. I gratefully acknowledge my Canadiana musical roots with this blog.

6 thoughts on “David Clayton Thomas & The Shays’ Take Me Back: 1960s-70s Musical Canadiana; Hear Where I’m Coming From?

Leave a Reply

