Luke & The Apostles’ Been Burnt: 1960s-70s Musical Canadiana; Hear Where I’m Coming From?

I remember seeing Luke & The Apostles when they opened for Jefferson Airplane at Okeefe Centre, July ’67. They were so excellent and so big time up there as support for Gracie (Slick)! We loved the Airplane but Luke & The Apostles were local gods to us!

As an aside, my father had a very upscale custom tailor (Henry Faber) store on Yonge St. and in the early days, when suits were in as band uniforms, I believe he actually made Luke & The Apostles a set.

What a gutsy vocal; I love Luke Gibson‘s take no prisoner attitude in this! Been Burnt has all the rock/bluesy elements that we all loved to listen to and emulate playing. That kind of stop time feel thing going on over the continuous drum groove, Mike McKenna‘s wailin’ guitar and that beautiful cut time feel change electrifies your ears every time you hear this tune; even to this day. I’d say they definitely carved their niche in the Toronto Sound with this one!

Let’s do it! We’ll set the way-back to 1965, and get into Luke & The Apostles playing Been Burnt

Personnel as determined: Luke Gibson vocal; Mike McKenna guitar; Peter Jermyn organ; Jim Jones bass; Rick McMurray drums.

*I have absorbed, inhaled and envisioned every note of this music; this music which has allowed my musical candle to burn incessantly for decades; a musical candle causing a burn that feels so GOOD; a hurt allowing me to create until I can’t. I gratefully acknowledge my Canadiana musical roots with this blog.

Leave a Reply

