The Paupers’ Simple Deed: 1960s-70s Musical Canadiana; Hear Where I’m Coming From?

The Paupers: Just Like The Group's Sound, This Picture Was Composed Around A Drum(s).

Let’s see now, we’re going back to 1967, I was 15 years old and didn’t care about anything but drums and girls; yes, in that order! The Paupers were huge to me. Not only is Skip Prokop‘s drumming on Simple Deed an event but, the other guys in the band play drums for part of the arrangement as well! I love all those drums!

The Much Aired Single, Simple Deed, Was From The Album Magic People; I Played This One Until I couldn't!

Simple Deed has this great groove which kind of “skips” along in a very tight, funky way; the great bass playing foundation, weaving its way through that, has a bit of a fuzz tone adding a real edge to the bed. This animated yet rock solid bed, allows those nicely harmonized vocals to really settle in; hence the charm of the performance.

Let’s go back to those lazy, hazy, crazy days and warm nights of summer in  Toronto‘s Yorkville Village and groove on The Pauper‘s Simple Deed

Personnel as determined: Skip Prokop vocal, drums; Adam Mitchell lead vocal, rhythm guitar, aux. drums; Chuck Beal vocal, lead guitar, aux. drums; Denny Gerarrd bass, aux. drums.

*I have absorbed, inhaled and envisioned every note of this music; this music which has allowed my musical candle to burn incessantly for decades; a musical candle causing a burn that feels so GOOD; a hurt allowing me to create until I can’t. I gratefully acknowledge my Canadiana musical roots with this blog.

Leave a Reply

