Mandala’s Loveitis: 1960s-70s Musical Canadiana; Hear Where I’m Coming From?

Mandala; Definitely! Those Famous Pinstripe Suits, Black Shirts, White Ties & White Suspenders.

Mandala; Definitely! Those Famous Pinstripe Suits, Black Shirts, White Ties & White Suspenders.

I gotta say, Mandala were and remain MY very special diamond in the rough. If you could take an artist’s palette, and smear R&B, Soul AND Rock to a chemist’s analysis, you may possibly come close to describing their sound. You’ve got a very soulful vocal; that organ adds a rhythmy/bluesy kind of punch; solid drums, bass AND stinging guitar glaze it with rockish icing.

Photo: Courtesy Of Kenny Webber webber{every}wear airbrushing

George Oliver & Don Elliott Photo: Courtesy Of Kenny Webber webber{every}wear airbrushing

NO GUITARIST, I mean absolutely NO GUITARIST could say more in 4 bars AND mean it, like Mandala‘s great guitarist Dom Troiano. In Loveitis, he does this laser-like guitar thing that hits you like a brain freeze from drinking a slurpee too fast! Whitey‘s drumming…, well, Whitey always knows what to do! Roy Kenner soars over everything without landing while Don & Henry hold down the fort. At this point, we’ve come a long way from the South “Y” baby! Click and swoon…

Personnel as determined: Roy Kenner vocal; Dom Troiano guitar; Pentti (Whitey) Glan drums; Henry Babraj Hammond (organ); Don Elliott bass.

*I have absorbed, inhaled and envisioned every note of this music; this music which has allowed my musical candle to burn incessantly for decades; a musical candle causing a burn that feels so GOOD; a hurt allowing me to create until I can’t. I gratefully acknowledge my Canadiana musical roots with this blog.

6 thoughts on “Mandala’s Loveitis: 1960s-70s Musical Canadiana; Hear Where I’m Coming From?

    • I thank you for this! I only didn’t mention them because they were an “add on” for the production as opposed to members of the group. But those horns where kind of James Brownish and also added an R&B touch. I in fact lifted the exact horn arrangement and used it in my first professional recording!
      All the best Nicole!

  1. Hey Arnie, love these posts about Toronto bands that rocked your world.
    Did you ever see the Rock Show of the Yeomen with Len Lytwin on drums?
    That guy was amazing!!

    • Thanks for connecting; according to my research it was Henri Babraj- I try to be as accurate as possible. BUT, if you could verify that it was Huey Sullivan, I would appreciate it as I would want to correct it… thx, A

Leave a Reply

