Tobacco Road; A Nashville Teens One-Off

Notice The “Demonstration Copy Not For Sale” On The Label. I Used To Love Collecting These.

The Nashville Teens’ (I still love the name) version of Tobacco Road is the one I am really connected to. Written by John D. Loudermilk, the tune is a mega standard; it’s the tune that the Nashville Teens are remembered for.

The Nashville Teens: “The British Group With The American Name”.

First off, that boom boom m’boom hollowed out bass throb is killer. Then add the walking bass line to the chorus and you’ve got me a groovin’! The rocky piano and those great vocals help to compile this effort into the great one-off it is. Thanks to the great producer Mickie Most, the Teens‘ performance of Tobacco Road will be duly noted!

When you click on this one, you are stomping back to 1964 and revisiting a very class(ic)(y) offering from the mighty British Invasion…

Personnel As Determined: Sharp & Ray Phillips vocals; John Hawken piano; Mick Dunford guitar; Pete Shannon Harris bass; Dave Maine drums.

As far as the creative side of my musical persona is concerned, I am the sum total of what I have experienced musically. The emotion, the energy and the memories of music collected in my ear have shaped who I am as a composer, player and dreamer.

Leave a Reply

