Zanzibar; A Billy Joel One-Off

I love everything about Billy Joel‘s work. His tune-smithing, playing and vocal abilities are truly American treasures. 52nd Street is definitely my fave Joel album and definitely because of its inclusion of Zanzibar.

Billy Joel’s composition and arrangement of Zanzibar was ambitious, bold AND very singular in approach. A real stand alone not only because of its unusual form but also, its jazz flavor.

I have heard live versions since and although I have enjoyed them memory music-wise, none emit the energy of the original album’s session. I believe the players, Billy Joel‘s time of life/career along with producer Phil Ramone, in combination, created the magic of the album’s cut.

So, point, click and enjoy the marvelous team effort that came together for this classic Billy Joel offering…

Personnel As Determined: Billy Joel vocal, piano; Doug Stegmeyer bass; Liberty DeVitto drums; Steve Khan guitar; Freddie Hubbard flugelhorn, trumpet; Mike Mainieri vibraphone, marimba;

As far as the creative side of my musical persona is concerned, I am the sum total of what I have experienced musically. The emotion, the energy and the memories of music collected in my ear have shaped who I am as a composer, player and dreamer.

Leave a Reply

