Thelonius Monk’s Misterioso; My Ears Are Black & Blue But I’m Smiling!

Thelonius "Sphere" Monk

Thelonius “Sphere” Monk

I love this particular version of Thelonious Monk‘s composition Misterioso more than any other. For me, it’s the imperfections of the performance (which really translates to sincerity and chance taking) that I find really amazing.

The tune is interesting in a kind of walking backwards up a steep hill kind of way and will remain in my ear forever. This is not about Monk‘s genius; for me it’s about his connection to his music through his musical being and how he gets his point across to me, the listener.

The stellar line-up has immortalized this recording forever in my music mind. Do it to me TSM

Personnel as determined: Sonny Rollins tenor sax; J.J.Johnson trombone; Thelonious Monk piano (comping Rollins); Horace Silver piano (comping Johnson); Paul Chambers bass; Art Blakey drums.

As far as the creative side of my musical persona is concerned, I am the sum total of what I have experienced musically. The emotion, the energy and the memories of music collected in my ear have shaped who I am as a composer, player and dreamer.

Leave a Reply

