…While Listening To Myself In The Mirror #17

Around 2002, Vibre´ started as a bass and vibraphone duo; we were both working at St. John’s Music in Calgary, at 4th St. & 10th Ave SW. We started with a series of Thursday Nights at The  Second Cup in the now deserted (demolished?) Gaslight Square. What started as a casual musical workout, turned into a gigging, touring and recording experience that I will always treasure…

My Deagan Commander II Vibraphone. Built-In Pickups, Portable. My Weapon Of Choice In 2002.

While  I was working retail in a musical instrument store, this thought occurred to me; why not form some kind of band with the staff. We all had families; we worked the same hours; we had similar musical interests so why not?

When 6:00 rolled around, I wheeled my vibes next door (in good weather) and we set up in 20 minutes. Playing next door to where we worked, every Thursday was convenient and seemed to work out well. We started attracting some regulars and our format was easy going jazz. With my vibraphone, we had a built in signature both visually and sound-wise. After a few months we started playing other coffee settings and started to let people sit in. It was fun and it kept my music machinery well-oiled!

Hey! Turn the radio up! I love that song!

We picked tunes that were easy to play on, so we could invite other players to jam with us. One of my faves, which I use to this day to warm up on in a club, is Charles Lloyd‘s Sweet Georgia Bright. I happen to love this rare instance of HIM playing it!

Charles Lloyd tenor sax; Jason Moran piano; Reuben Rogers bass; Eric Harland drums.

*The Series …While Listening To Myself In The Mirror, chronicles the milestones, influences and progression of the musical career and times of Arnold Faber, Canadian Career Musician/Composer. The intent is strictly to inform, entertain and chronicle a 38+ year career in Canadian music history.

Leave a Reply

