The Yardbirds: Integrity With A Pedigreed Legacy

For me, there is no beginning or ending to their story or music. The Yardbirds just seem to live and not age. The shuffles, bluesy/rocky pinky finger stuff on the the bass strings of the guitars AND those CRAZY guitar leads all mixed with Keith Relf’s unmistakable nasal vocal, are still and will always be a part of my musical meanderings. Everything about them including their name (referenced from Charlie “Yardbird” Parker’s name/persona) is special and VERY Yardbirds!

The Lineup Upbove & On The Vid, L To R, Is THE One In My Mind. Jeff Beck Guitar; Jim McCarty Drums; Chris Dreja Bass; Jimmy Page Guitar; (Not Pictured But Just As Integral, Paul Samwell-Smith Producer/Bass).

We are talking about a major part of my musical DNA here! A little grit + borrowed, but honed into their own brand of American Blues/R&B + great playing/writing with just enough attitude to make it interesting = The Yardbirds. To me, they still live.

The tunes on this clip are:

1. You Go Your Way I Go Mine  Dylan
2. Over Under Sideways Down  Dreja, McCarty, Beck, Relf, Samwell-Smith 
3. Little Games  Spiro/Wainman

 

From my Aural Snap•Shot series:

As far as the creative side of my musical persona is concerned, I am the sum total of what I have experienced musically. The emotion, the energy and the memories of music collected in my ear have shaped who I am as a composer, player and dreamer.

Leave a Reply

