I’m Down; A Beatles’ One-Off

I love that Little Richard thing Paul does with his voice on this. Also of note: John is playing a Vox Continental organ which was a big part of the British Sound at the time with such groups as The Animals and The Dave Clark Five. Apparently, it took them seven takes to get the keeper for the bed tracks.

The Vox Continental

I’m Down (Credited: Lennon/McCartney; rumoured to be written by Paul) was never released on any album (at the time of recording) and was actually the B Side of the single Help! The live version at Shea Stadium was played in front of the largest audience the Beatles ever played for in August of 1965.

The energy generated between Paul’s voice and the rest of the band, gives this track a special place in my heart; truly a stand alone from the Beatles for me.

John Lennon backup vocal, rhythm guitar, Vox Continental organ; George Harrison  backup vocal, lead guitar; Paul McCartney lead vocal, bass guitar; Ringo Starr drums, bongos.

As far as the creative side of my musical persona is concerned, I am the sum total of what I have experienced musically. The emotion, the energy and the memories of music collected in my ear have shaped who I am as a composer, player and dreamer.

Leave a Reply

