Philadelphia Freedom; An Elton John One-Off

This Is Actually The Cover Art For The Single, Philadelphia Freedom

Apparently, Philadelphia Freedom was written by Elton John and Bernie Taupin as a favor to Elton’s friend, tennis star Billie Jean King. King was part of the Philadelphia Freedoms tennis team. The song features orchestral arrangements by Gene Page (i.e. Barry White). The arrangement is also supposed to be a tribute to the Philadelphia Sound (i.e. Love Unlimited Orchestra). This was written as a single, no association to any album (when he wrote it) and really doesn’t sound like anything else he ever did.

The strings are absolutely beautiful. I never get sick of them and the way they function in the tune. Being very attached to the city itself, I have very pleasant memories because of having family there and gigging. Philadelphia Freedom gives me warm and fuzzies every time I hear it even, after all these years.

Davey Johnstone guitar; Dee Murray bass; Nigel Olsson drums; Ray Cooper percussion.

As far as the creative side of my musical persona is concerned, I am the sum total of what I have experienced musically. The emotion, the energy and the memories of music collected in my ear have shaped who I am as a composer, player and dreamer.

Leave a Reply

