The Ox; An Example Of True Grit From The British Invasion

The Ox is an instrumental on this album that grinds, grates and cuts to the bone; and I love it! I equate it to the up side of listening to fingernails scratching on a blackboard… It’s been a friend all these years and still intrigues me. Sometimes, I actually crave it! We are talking RAW energy, explosive playing and the sum total of four musicians who’s heads are all pointed in the same direction.

Being an extreme Keith Moon fan and diehard Who maniac since the beginning, I certainly appreciate this tune for those reasons. I do have however, a keen interest in the piano playing on this tune. The Ox, actually John Entwistle’s nickname and featuring him, was written collectively by The Who with some influence by Nicky Hopkins.

Pete Townshend guitar; John Entwistle bass; Keith Moon drums; Nicky Hopkins piano.

As far as the creative side of my musical persona is concerned, I am the sum total of what I have experienced musically. The emotion, the energy and the memories of music collected in my ear have shaped who I am as a composer, player and dreamer.

Leave a Reply

