Thelonious Sphere Monk Powered By Oliver Nelson

This album was kind of an aural cleanser for me. I was about 17 years old and bought it because I had to make a Columbia Record Club choice and because the cover looked interesting.

Can you imagine? Those wonderful Nelson arrangements and Monk’s style flowing into my virgin ears; WWWOOOOWWWWW!!!!!

Monk’s complete abandon of MY concept of how things should sound, sitting on Oliver Nelson’s superb framework, set me on fire; it’s still burning all these years later.

I really love everything on the album. But today, It’s Trinkle Tinkle, composed by Monk that’s invading my mind.

Talk about your all-star lineup mister!

Personnel: Thelonious Monk (piano); Oliver Nelson (arranger, conductor); Ernie Small, Thomas Scott, Gene Cipriano, Ernie Watts, Charlie Rouse (saxophone); Robert Bryant, Frederick Hill, Conte Candoli, Robert Brookmeyer (trumpet); William Byers, Mike Wimberly (trombone); Howard Roberts (guitar); Larry Gales (acoustic bass); Ben Riley (drums); John Guerin (percussion).

As far as the creative side of my musical persona is concerned, I am the sum total of what I have experienced musically. The emotion, the energy and the memories of music collected in my ear have shaped who I am as a composer, player and dreamer.

Leave a Reply

