…While Listening To Myself In The Mirror #16

This Is The West To Me. We Used To Tour, In, Around And Through The Mountains Regularly. When I First Saw Them, I Was In A Van With 3 Other Musicians; I Said To One Of Them. “WOW, They Are So Amazing!”. He Replied, “Aw, They’ll Be There Tomorrow!”.

It was around this time that I decided to start playing vibraphone in a solo concept with MIDI back up tracks. You couldn’t buy tracks so I made all of mine, and transferred them to a Tascam 4 track deck and mixed them through a small P.A.. Although professional karaoke is widely accepted now, you can imagine what it looked like in 1988, especially with a vibraphone! I actually had people invite me to sit down for a drink; they used to say as a joke, “just let the tracks play!”.

I had extended engagements at varied venues; The Green Street Cafe, Cafe Calabash, The Calgary Science Center, Malls, various restaurants around Calgary etc.. One of my faves was about six months at The Plaza Theater; I played while they ran a slide show of local advertising before the movie started. I also got to see all the great movies they showed.

A Calgary Landmark! What A Great Gig! I played All The Music I Loved Before The Show Started.

Hey! Turn the radio up! I love that song!

I grew up in an age of great instrumentals; classic hits by Booker T & The MGs, Average White Band, The Ventures, The Champs, etc.. So, I decided to present a blend of these and Jazz/Blues standards that meant a lot to me.

This is an early promo video that I sent out for work in those days.

*The Series …While Listening To Myself In The Mirror, chronicles the milestones, influences and progression of the musical career and times of Arnold Faber, Canadian Career Musician/Composer. The intent is strictly to inform, entertain and chronicle a 38+ year career in Canadian music history.

Leave a Reply

