…While Listening To Myself In The Mirror #9

Lenny Breau was my first glimpse into how deep one’s passion could go; be it by choice or no choice…

The Intimacy & Sheer Connection He Had With Guitar, Was What Got Me So Deeply Into Him.

The music chose me; I didn’t choose the music! That’s how I have felt since I started my life adventure at about nine years of age. Honesty, bordering on foolishness has been most costly. Fortunately for me, not as costly as for some others.

For me, a musical instrument is only an extension of one’s body, one’s soul if sincere; it’s all about the music. To create music out with that extension, demands an expertise, a certain mastery or command of that weapon of choice. Study, time and experience are all equally required.

Lenny Breau represented the first of the very few that have typified the above for me on all levels. It was his melodic/harmonic integrity, audible through his technical mastery, that attracted my ears. I really needed to understand…

a career in music? Don’t be silly, you won’t make a living. That’s no life for a son (daughter) of mine. That’s that! I don’t want to discuss it again!

Hey! Turn the radio up! I love that song!

Just after high school, I stumbled on a brilliant guitar player, about my age, who could actually emulate Lenny (along with other influences like Joe Pass, Jim Hall and among others, even Joe Walsh!). We put together a trio with a very good bass player and that, was my first (ad)venture drumming wise, with open, all out, no kidding, no holds barred jazz. I was immersed in it so, that I became hooked on improvisation, that is, the whole concept of thinking on your feet. We even did a good paying gig!

I Played The Record Until It Wouldn’t Play Any More! I Have Gone Through 2 Of These CD’s Since.

As a musician, I believe that I am the sum total of my learning process, everything I have ever listened to and the time I have spent seriously honing my craft; wrapping the above concept in the context of performance, recording and the necessary balance with real life, one can get a sense of a musician’s version of “you are what you eat“!

RIP Lenny Breau; I’m not sure you had much peace while you were with us.

*The Series …While Listening To Myself In The Mirror, chronicles the milestones, influences and progression of the musical career and times of Arnold Faber, Canadian Career Musician/Composer. The intent is strictly to inform, entertain and chronicle a 38+ year career in Canadian music history.

Leave a Reply

