…While Listening To Myself In The Mirror #5

My First Drum Kit: 5+ Piece Green Pearl, Calf Skin Snare Drum Head And Tons Of Extras. We Bought It From One Of My Father’s Best Friends Who Came Over From England After The War. He Had Been A Pro- Show Drummer In London’s West End, Covent Gardens etc..

It was a great drum kit and I played all over Toronto with it. Every music mother in my circle knew me; she either drove me, housed my kit in her basement while I practiced there, or, her kid was in the group I was playing with.

When I was practicing to records, you could hear me all over the street and I always had a crowd in my parents’ old cavern-like basement. Music, music, and more music; that’s  all that mattered.

I was pretty sick for it and my parents knew it- they just didn’t know what to do about it.

a career in music? Don’t be silly, you won’t make a living. That’s no life for a son (daughter) of mine. That’s that! I don’t want to discuss it again!

Hey! Turn the radio up! I love that song!

By the time I was in grade 8, I was making money playing dances, house parties, weddings, Bar Mitzvahs, fashion shows etc.. In the 60’s, Live music was everywhere. All the bars and clubs, schools and hotels had live music. You couldn’t even walk down a residential street on any given night and not hear a band practicing or playing some kind of house party; amazing times.

L To R: Michael Pezim; Geoff Clarfield; Dany Lester; Arnold Faber; Gary Lester; Jon Newman

L To R: Michael Pezim; Geoff Clarfield; Dany Lester; Arnold Faber; Gary Lester; Jon Newman

The first really organized, money making band I was in, played all the Tijuana Brass hits. We called ourselves The Brass Beat. The line-up included a set of male twins on trumpets, their best friend on trombone, a guitar player famous for doing cereal commercials alternating on bass/guitar, light show (when our lighting guy couldn’t do a gig, my future wife of 42+ years would work the lights) and sometimes an extra guitar player. We were really young (grade 8), loved music and could really play; even our band teacher jammed with us on piano!

Herb Alpert and his Tijuana Brass were HUGE; we had that sound down. It was fun to play, technically challenging and people loved us! I grew a lot from those times.

*The Series …While Listening To Myself In The Mirror, chronicles the milestones, influences and progression of the musical career and times of Arnold Faber, Canadian Career Musician/Composer. The intent is strictly to inform, entertain and chronicle a 38+ year career in Canadian music history.

2 thoughts on “…While Listening To Myself In The Mirror #5

Leave a Reply

