…While Listening To Myself In The Mirror #4

I Chose The First Ten No Probs; The Eleventh One Was Tough... But, It Changed My Perception Of Music

I think everyone in those days tried the Columbia Record Club, once! I mean, who could resist; we were all so into our record collections.

This is how it went for me; I picked out my first 10, no problem. I could not find number 11. I started perusing categories. Country-Western, nah; Easy Listening, nah; Dance Party, nah; Jazz, hmm…

I started going through the section looking at the various covers and I came across the Buddy Rich album, Big Swing Face.

With A Face Only A Mother Could Love, The Fact That He Was Playing Drums, And Seeing I Was Becoming Desperate For A Final Choice, I Figured Why Not!

a career in music? Don’t be silly, you won’t make a living. That’s no life for a son (daughter) of mine. That’s that! I don’t want to discuss it again!

Hey! Turn the radio up! I love that song!

The big day came; my records were here! I spent hours listening to my selections and finally, I decided to crack open Buddy Rich. At this point, I knew nothing about Buddy Rich other than according to the album cover, he must be a drummer. I knew even less about jazz…

The first tune was Norwegian Wood, the Beatles tune. It was nice, interesting, but it wasn’t the Beatles. The next track was the title tune, Big Swing Face. WOWWWWW! It blew my head off! How did he create all all those sounds at once? That horn sound was so big, the drums so driving- I couldn’t fathom what he was doing.

Now I was playing all of the time; I was in five bands at the same time. Then, like now, I couldn’t get enough! I thought I had it pretty well sussed out. I kind of knew where everything was, I could emulate all my idols and jam with anyone of my ilk. Then came Buddy! It was the beginning of my non quenchable musical lust.

From that album, through Buddy Rich’s virtuosity, I started to get curious about all instruments, arranging and composition. I still get a major kick out of turning my young drum students on to Buddy Rich. You should see their faces…

 

*The Series …While Listening To Myself In The Mirror, chronicles the milestones, influences and progression of the musical career and times of Arnold Faber, Canadian Career Musician/Composer. The intent is strictly to inform, entertain and chronicle a 38+ year career in Canadian music history.

2 thoughts on “…While Listening To Myself In The Mirror #4

  1. Nice Blog. I stumbled on to Buddy Rich in a similar way. I picked up a cheap copy of “The Drum Battle: Gene Krupa and Buddy Rich at JATP” and found myself hooked.
    Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

