…While Listening To Myself In The Mirror #3

It Even Came With A Pair Of Sticks & A Set Of Brushes

My grandfather bought me my first drum. It was a red sparkle Stewart snare drum. I remember it like it was yesterday. The local music store was maybe a couple of miles away and he phoned there, told them to put it in a taxi and send it over. I knew which one I wanted as I had seen it in the window.

I remember opening the box, carefully taking that drum out and setting it up in front of the family. It even came with a pair of sticks and a set of brushes! Alas, it wasn’t a whole set of drums like Ringo’s 4 piece pearl Ludwigs, Dave Clark’s 5 piece red sparkle Rogers or Keith Moon’s gazzillion piece custom Premier…

a career in music? Don’t be silly, you won’t make a living. That’s no life for a son (daughter) of mine. That’s that! I don’t want to discuss it again!

Hey! Turn the radio up! I love that song!

Looking at that snare drum, I wondered just how many sounds I could get from it; I hit different parts of it with the sticks; I mixed the sticks and brushes with snares on and off; I even yelled into it. One way or the other, I was determined to get the most possible out of this drum.

The Who’s Keith Moon meant so much to me. The way he interacted with the music, his funny faces AND of course his monster drum set. Although he was fascinating to watch, it was the recordings that I drooled over; everything from the way he sat in the mix to how he took old tom concepts and made them his own. I still play Premier drums to this day.

This clip from Shindig, a very popular music show of the era threw me over the edge! This typifies the energy of the times as I felt it.

*The Series …While Listening To Myself In The Mirror, chronicles the milestones, influences and progression of the musical career and times of Arnold Faber, Canadian Career Musician/Composer. The intent is strictly to inform, entertain and chronicle a 38+ year career in Canadian music history.

Leave a Reply

