…While Listening To Myself In The Mirror #1

I remember talking to a woman who worked for my parents when I was about 12 years old. She was in the kitchen, ironing and singing to a country-western tune on the radio and I asked her why she liked this music. She said it was honest, real; something she could identify with…

I NEVER forgot that conversation; I even remember that her name was June.

a career in music? Don’t be silly, you won’t make a living. That’s no life for a son (daughter) of mine. That’s that! I don’t want to discuss it again!

Hey! Turn the radio up! I love that song!

I really admired my band director in high school, I mean, he really meant a lot to me and had quite an affect on me. My parents went to talk to him about me considering a career in music. According to them, he discouraged it completely; not because of my abilities but, for reasons of lifestyle, hardships etc.. It has kind of haunted me all these years. Finally, I got together with him to reminisce and I brought this to his attention; he denied it completely. As a result of our face to face conversation, I am not totally convinced he didn’t…

I love EVERYTHING about Patsy Cline. Whenever I hear one of her tunes, I think of what June said to me all those years ago in my parent’s kitchen. I often wonder about what life must have dealt her while she was turning out that great music…

*The Series …While Listening To Myself In The Mirror, chronicles the milestones, influences and progression of the musical career and times of Arnold Faber, Canadian Career Musician/Composer. The intent is strictly to inform, entertain and chronicle a 38+ year career in Canadian music history.

Leave a Reply

