There is Integrity In Leading By Example; Win Win For All Concerned

I have led many bands over the years and have found that example is so visible a concept that, everyone seems to get it. Leading by example means, the particular way I conduct myself on/off the bandstand, the way I prepare for rehearsal as well as for performance AND my attitude.

Being barked at, belittled or threatened for what someone else deems musical or detrimental doesn’t really help the team spirit thing that’s so necessary in a group situation. Our musical moments of interaction are fleeting at best. Short of recording, which we can do until we get it “right”, performances last as long as they are perceived then “poof”, they’re gone!

When I first start working with someone, I let them know I am interested in their take on whatever we are involved with or else I wouldn’t have asked them to become involved in the first place. This not only goes for original concepts, but General Business as well (the idea of GB being that if I didn’t think they could do it, I wouldn’t have asked them so ‘give it your best shot’; after all, we’re in it now!).

I am fortunate to have experienced many long time relationships with musicians I have worked with over the years. This makes for very memorable music making!

Conceptual leadership or taking chances has always been a natural fit for me as well…



One thought on “There is Integrity In Leading By Example; Win Win For All Concerned

Leave a Reply

