Social Networking For The Ear: Composing Music

Arranging emotion into a sequence of tonal events has always been a raging passion with me. Everything about it from the symmetry of how it looks on manuscript to honing it into reality for recorded documentation is a process that has become extremely satisfying and endearing to me over the years.

To me, the concept of music “saying something” to the ear, draws certain parallels with “putting words out there” with a purpose.

It all starts with why we do it in the first place. I firmly believe that the reasons we set out to compose or “tweet” will determine the effect of any particular creation. Although you can’t win them all, your chances of longevity in peoples perception will be better if one’s thought/execution process is intact. That is, thought:plan; production:presentation; quality:care.

I move forward, evolve and produce based on my personal need to create, which is, if you think about it, a very basic or natural instinct. I really want to be heard- to be sure, but for what purpose is what makes me ME; how I present myself is what makes me ME; the care I put into the whole prospect is what makes me ME.

I look in the mirror everyday and I have to live with myself.

Ernest Hemingway: ‘There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed’.

One thought on “Social Networking For The Ear: Composing Music

Leave a Reply

