Playing For Keeps: Better Than Playing For Money!

Longevity in any art form is truly a feat in itself. An artist of any discipline needs “the years” to evolve and mature. There is no such thing as a short cut.

Years ago I would play six nights a week, 4-5 forty-minute sets months at a time. Talk about grind! But I always played each night like it was my last night; each set like it was my last set; each tune like it was my last tune- and, polished it accordingly; still do…

It is my focus, passion and desire to create music that has allowed me to endure AND make the most of it. For me, it is kind of like savouring a fine vintage to the last drop.

To this day I continue to approach very note I play or compose, in practice or performance, with that same focus, passion and desire to create. This combined energy has remained with me even when money has not; even when opportunity has not; EVEN when good health has not.

Don't We All Think We Are Super At This Age?

Don’t We All Think We Are Super At This Age?

A very good friend always said I made music for the right reasons.

Group: Almanac; that’s me playing drums not vibraphone! I remember it well. Felice’s Italian restaurant, Banff AB, 1973.

“Still Crazy After All These Years”-Paul Simon

That’s me playing vibraphone, not drums! I guess I’ll keep doing it ’till I can’t!

4 thoughts on “Playing For Keeps: Better Than Playing For Money!

  1. I go back further… to when you played Ajax drums… the coolest kit I have ever seen… and the ONLY Ajax kit I have ever seen! LH

Leave a Reply

