Anatomy Of A Jazz:Metal Fusion Recording

05/17/09 Session #5  (3 Hours)     Recording

Instruments: Vibraphone Musician(s): Arnold Faber
Segment: Duets 1 Composition: Metal Vibe Faber

After transcribing all Cam’s rhythm phrases, I went about learning the drum part with my ears and equating it to what I had to put on manuscript. I noticed how musically the cymbals washed over the bass drums  and toms.

This inspired me to compose utilizing chromaticisms and consider the complete range of the vibraphone in building the figures into the arrangement. I also realized that all four mallets were necessary to add depth to the emotion of what I was trying to achieve.

This is one of my more ambitious compositions and as I reflect on it at this point, I realize how successful I really was in blending the elements of jazz with heavy metal (I don’t think it has ever been attempted in a duet between vibraphone & large drum set!).

Metal Vibe is now ready to mix. I am not waiting as I feel the mixing process
is equally important as the performance to complete the composition. I do not want to lose the context I have retained in my ears.

This is one of my more ambitious compositions and as I reflect on it at this point, I realize how successful I really was in blending the elements of jazz with heavy metal (I wonder if it has ever been attempted in a duet between vibraphone & large drum set!).

Footage: Shelly Faber

Leave a Reply

