What’ll It Be? A Shot Of Whiskey Or A Chocolate Milkshake?

You choose…

Most people casually offered the choice of liquor or a chocolate milkshake, will likely reach for the shake and gluck it back; broccoli or fries, fries; stairs or elevator, elevator; etc..

Music offered for listening: Classical or Classic Rock; Jazz or Smooth Jazz; Western or Country… you get the point.

Because we are somewhat robotic when it comes to the constant bombarding influence of marketing, we will usually choose the path of least resistance. I mean, let’s face it, the milkshake does go down SOMEWHAT more easily than a fine scotch. We are talking acquired taste vs no effort gratification.

It is important to me that my music gets a fair “shake”. I choose to believe that GOOD music is GOOD music (regardless of genre) and will appeal to a certain percentage of listeners regardless of demographics.

I feel, the depth, sincerity and presentation of the musical offering itself will at some point in the process create the positive edge for acceptance. It’s kind of like sweeping in front of a rock in the sport of Curling- it could be crucial…

I love jazz: listening, composing, playing, talking about… but I grew up loving The Who, Beatles, Yardbirds, Beachboys etc; I honour my influences and acknowledge my mentors 100%- that’s how I connect with my audience and fuel my passion!

Listener Counsel: Keep your ears infinitely open for new aural experiences while enjoying whatever genre you came up on; be your own “bandwagon” JUST LISTEN!

Student Counsel: Stay true to your roots as you grow; recognize where you come from! You’ll have a better chance of getting your musical point across and winning your audience over.

“Be true to YOUR school”- Brian Wilson


3 thoughts on “What’ll It Be? A Shot Of Whiskey Or A Chocolate Milkshake?

  1. Re “the path of least resistance”… This reminds me of the Tony Robbins phrase, “people will do more to avoid pain than to gain pleasure.” Perhaps we listen to familiar or “easy” music rather than new or “difficult” music simply because we might not like the latter.

    And regarding a certain percentage enjoying your music… the “long tail” (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Long_Tail) seems to apply to iTunes and online music sales. Rather than a record store, which carries only a few thousand of the currently popular CDs, there’s millions of songs available at all times. And I’m told that less popular songs are now selling more, over a longer period of time. Now the question is, how do we drive people to our websites and then to our online store.

    • I think marketing principles have not changed. They just have to be tailored to the “new” scenarios. I mean the fact that I can perform 24/7 without moving my gear is HUGE! When I see the numbers growing with visits to my sites, I can’t help thinking of the angst involved with traveling to play to a handful of people over the last several years. I am warming up my market to sell my new CD (which I am taking my time with) and then I will cater to my fan base. The process is sooo painless and excites me for the future.

Leave a Reply

