“Bangin’ On The Bongos Like A Chimpanzee…”

“Bangin’ on the bongos like a chimpanzee…”- Mark Knopfler

Over the years, people have said to me, “I would like to play drums, they look easy so I think I’ll take a couple of lessons”. It always made me angry and usually provoked some kind of wise-guy comeback from me. However, I think I figured out why people may think of drumming as easy.

If I gave them a flute to blow, they probably wouldn’t get a sound out of it and would look at the keys and say, “that’s too difficult!”.

If I showed them a drum, they would tap it and probably say, “ya, that’s more like it, I could get into that!”. The people who have come to me with that attitude usually quit shortly after saying, “I didn’t realize there was that much to it. I think I’ll try something else.”.

EVERY instrument has it’s easy student/player friendly AND not so friendly aspects. With drums, you don’t have pitch or key signatures to deal with; it’s COORDINATION of limbs and interaction with TIME on many levels mixed with the ability to lead, follow and blend (sometimes all at the same time!).

I don’t believe anyone should approach learning an instrument based on perceived difficulty. If you like the SOUND based on the different musical scenarios you have heard a particular instrument, approach it with a profound interest.

Learning to play an instrument is one thing; actually PLAYING music on that instrument, is something else altogether!

“Bb’s a great note. Beethoven used it plenty of times!”

– Charlie The Tuna

 

Is Jono Callow making music with his didjeridoo?


Leave a Reply

